Our 2013 Garden

Since my last post my husband went away for military duty (and is back thankfully!), my baby had an illness that put him in the ER and then ended up with pneumonia, and we put up peaches, blueberries, pickles, swiss chard and celery.

BUT the garden continues to do well and give our family food on a daily basis.  This is the best part of the season – when all the hard work begins to pay off!  Our next weeks will be busy continuing to harvest, process and store as much produce as we can.  Although we are nowhere near growing all of our fruits and vegetables, the more we do grow, the bigger the dent in our grocery budget (not to mention the health benefits of fresh, organic, heirloom veggies that haven’t been handled and shipped across the country!  That’s a topic for another day though…).

Here are a few photos of our garden this year:

Corn and winter squash

Corn and winter squash

Bean Tower and Corn

Bean Tower and Corn

I planted corn, beans and squash with the Native American Three Sisters planting in mind, although I had the beans grow up a tepee instead of up the corn stalks.

Our huge pepper plants, along with two extra tomatoes I needed to stick in somewhere that are growing nicely on the netting

Pepper plants, along with two extra tomatoes I needed to stick in somewhere that are growing nicely on the netting

Our pepper plants are huge this year!  We have a northern variety green bell pepper, Anaheim (always our best producer among the peppers) and jalapeno.  This is the first year we’ve gotten a good green pepper crop.

The children's garden - pumpkins and sunflowers

The children’s garden – pumpkins and sunflowers

The kids chose pumpkins and sunflowers for their very own raised bed.

Potato Plants - You can see some of the leaves browning...I'm hoping this is because they're about ready to harvest, not that we have blights due to the very wet season we've had!  I've been  too afraid to dig under and look...

Potato Plants

You can see some of the leaves on our potato plants starting to turn brown.  I really hope this is because they’re about ready to harvest, and not because of blight!  We’ve had an extraordinarily wet summer this year and I’ve been too afraid to dig up some potatoes to look!

Carrots, parsnips, leeks, green onions and cucumbers

Carrots, parsnips, leeks, green onions and cucumbers

At the other end of the potato bed are carrots (which I just noticed a trail that a rabbit munched through!  Headed right to the store for some diatomaceous earth.  We’ll give that a try!), parsnips, leeks, green onions and cucumbers.

Tomato and cucumber plants.  You can see the cucumbers grew right up a tomato cage - whoops!  I'll need to plan that better next year...

Tomato and cucumber plants. You can see the cucumbers grew right up a tomato cage – whoops! I’ll need to plan that better next year…

Mortgage Lifter heirloom tomatoes - one of the new varieties we're trying this year, along with our old standby - Amish Paste tomatoes

Mortgage Lifter heirloom tomatoes

And the tomato plants.  They’re doing great so far, although we haven’t had a red tomato yet.  Lots of green tomatoes.  We’re trying several new varieties, along with our standby Amish Paste tomatoes.  As with the potatoes, there are a few leaves turning brown.  We’ve had blight destroy our harvest so many times…I really hope that isn’t the case, as I really want to have enough tomatoes to last the year.  Tomatoes are one of the last canned items we purchase, because we use them so much.

Not pictured is an additional raised bed that had peas, spinach (which didn’t fare well), onions, a few beets and zucchini.  I’m in the middle of harvesting the onions, and weeds took over the half that had the peas and spinach, so that one didn’t look pretty enough to take a photo of!  Such is real life though….

So there you have it – our 2013 garden.  If anyone knows why my tomatoes plants are browning from the bottom (and please don’t tell me blight!), please comment!!!  How is your garden doing this year?

 

Barn-Hop

2 thoughts on “Our 2013 Garden

  1. Just spotted that verse @ the top of your blog. I have the same one on the dash of my pick up right now. I know that is not one of the questions you asked, but that verse continues to stir something in my soul. Sorry, I can’t help you with why your tomatoes are browning from the bottom ..but I will say, this has been the best garden I’ve ever managed. I decided to heavy mulch everything (except the green beans, which I planted in 2 blocks, 4 ft by 12 ft area with the hope they would keep 90% of the weeds in check which they did. Our heirloom Brandywine tomatoes started to turn a week ago. One of my other garden goals this year was to harvest everything I planted, (rather than just let it go to waste) So far, I’ve been able to do that. I work full time in construction, plus tend a 100 tree apple orchard, so juggling my time can be a challenge. Glad your hubby is home, and your baby is feeling better. :-) Lot to be thankful for. DM

    • Yes, that verse is one that has been inspiring to us as we’ve our mindset has shifted more toward providing for ourselves, producing our own food, etc. Good advice for anyone, but especially for those of us who profess faith. And good for you with your gardening on top of work and tending an orchard! I’ve been afraid to say it (because a disaster could destroy the garden at any moment – hail, wind, blight, deer, etc.), but this year has by far been our best garden ever as well. I’m just waiting for the other shoe to drop!

Leave a Reply

