Food Fridays – Cream of Broccoli Soup

Remember way back when I posted about my failure with substituting cheddar cheese for velveeta in my favorite broccoli soup recipe?  The very delicious broccoli soup with velveeta cheese my mom always made growing up?  (Of course you don’t remember, you have a life, too!)  My memories of this soup bring me back to Sunday afternoons, when we’d get home from church and my mom would make a pot of this deliciousness.

Since I’ve stopped cooking with “pasteurized processed cheese food” (what is processed cheese food anyway?), I’ve struggled with a few recipes that just don’t seem to taste as good without my beloved velveeta.  HOWEVER, I did finally make a fantastic broccoli soup last night, with no process cheese food.  It was delightful, especially on such a cool fall day.  I thought you might enjoy the recipe, too (adapted from my mom’s famous broccoli soup).

A_Hopeful_Homestead_CreamofBroccoliSoup

Cream of Broccoli Soup (Real-food style)

4 cups chicken broth (perfect use for a homemade bone broth!)

2 cups chopped broccoli (frozen is fine)

Half a small onion, chopped

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

3 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup flour

1 pt half and half or cream (I used the cream from our raw milk)

2 cups milk

6-8 oz. noodles

1-2 cups cheddar cheese

1-2 tsp dill, oregano, or basil (or combination)

Salt and pepper

Bring chicken broth and seasonings to a boil in your favorite stockpot.  Add broccoli and turn down heat to simmer, 10-15 minutes.  In the meantime, saute onion and garlic in butter over medium heat.  When onion is soft (but not browned), mix in flour quickly, being careful not to burn it.  Whisk in cream.  Keep whisking over medium-high heat until mixture begins to get bubbly and thicken.  Do not boil.  Add cream mixture to chicken broth, along with the milk and noodles.  Cook over medium heat until noodles are tender, about 10-15 minutes, again being careful not to boil (turn down heat if needed).  Stir in cheese until melted.

Tips:

  • You can use any noodles that you like.  My mom always used egg noodles, which are still my favorite.  In the photo above, I used little ditalini soup pasta.
  • Really be careful not to boil the cream or milk (Did I already mention that?  Maybe because I’ve done it.)  You can get the roux (that’s the butter/flour/cream mixture) bubbly and thick without fully boiling it.
  • If the soup ends up getting too thick, just whisk in some more milk.
  • Delicious served with homemade warm biscuits or bread

Enjoy!

Barn-Hop

homesteadershop3

4 thoughts on “Food Fridays – Cream of Broccoli Soup

    • From what I can tell when I’ve researched canning cream-based soups, it is not safe to do. I looked into this a couple of years ago when I wanted to can my own cream of mushroom soup to use in recipes. What I realized was that in order to can those soups, companies use a ton of preservatives, soy, etc. So unfortunately, I think the answer is no (although I encourage you to do the research yourself! And if you find a different answer, please come back and tell me!).

Leave a Reply

