Food Fridays – Black Forest Trifle

This week we celebrated my husband’s birthday!  He is a very special, hard-working man, and I thank God for bringing him in my life when we were toddlers.  (Yep, we met in the church nursery.)

He has had a Black Forest Cake every year for his birthday since he was able to choose (except the year he was deployed overseas…although I think I made it up to him when he returned, if I remember correctly).  I took over the birthday cake making when we married, and have sought to make every component as homemade as possible.  Although this year I do admit to cheating on the cherry filling, but you’ll forgive me, right?  This is celebration #3 in less than two weeks.

Since we’ve had cakes the last two weekends for our kids’ parties, I decided to change it up a bit.  I got my husband’s blessing to make a trifle (using leftover chocolate cake from our daughter’s adoption party).  I know, it sounds a bit lame to use leftover cake, but hey, I was being resourceful and realisitic…we would never eat all of the cake we had leftover, plus a new one!  Anyway, onto the recipe (well, actually more like a process.  I’m giving you mere layering directions…easy stuff):

A_Hopeful_Homestead_BlackForestTrifle

Black Forest Trifle

You’ll need:

  • Favorite chocolate cake recipe, baked (I adapted mine from the Chocolate Cake recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, by using fresh whole wheat flour, 1/2 and 1/2 mix of soft pastry wheat and hard white wheat)
  • Whipped Cream (using a mixer, whip 2 C cold heavy cream, 2 Tbsp sugar or maple syrup, and 2 tsp vanilla until stiff peaks develop.  You’ll know you’re there when you lift a spoon in the whipped cream, and it stays standing up where you pull the spoon out…and if you go too far, you’ve just made really sweet butter :))
  • Cherry Pie filling (if you use canned, try to find one without high-fructose corn syrup)

Get out some sort of pretty glass container to show all the layers.  I used large wine glasses.  You could use the same process in a large glass bowl if you don’t want to serve individually like this.

Prepare each of the components above:  cake, whipped cream and pie filling.  Be sure that your whipped cream is fresh and kept cold.  Cut cooled cake pieces into small cubes, about 1/2 inch.

Put layer of cake pieces in the bottom of your glass container.

A_Hopeful_Homestead_BlackForestTrifle2

Then top with cherries, including some of the sauce, and making sure cherries line the edges of your glass.  Use a damp towel to wipe any messiness.

A_Hopeful_Homestead_BlackForestTrifle3

Top with a layer of whipped cream, smoothing a little.

A_Hopeful_Homstead_BlackForestTrifle4

Then repeat layers in the same order.  You can repeat layers a third time if your container is tall or large.  End with a layer of whipped cream.  Top with chocolate shavings or little bits of crumbled chocolate cake.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

A_Hopeful_Homestead_BlackForestTrifle5

You probably don’t need the photo tutorial, but doesn’t it look delicious?  Enjoy!

 

Barn-Hop

Leave a Reply

