Felt Pumpkin Activities

I totally under-utilize felt.  It is such an easy and awesome thing for kids to play with.  They can’t break it, hurt each other with it, or damage my home with it.  I even have a felt board that I made during a craft in my MOPS group a couple of years ago.  Yesterday I decided to pull out my felt and make a couple of pumpkin activities for the kids to celebrate fall.  If you want patterns, I don’t have them :).  I just free-handed it.  Thankfully, this is a pretty easy one to freehand, as I am in no way artistic (and totally rely on other people’s free patterns online for most of our crafts!).

A_Hopeful_Homestead_PumpkinFeltActivity

Decorate a Pumpkin Felt Activity

First I made a pumpkin that the kids could “decorate” with different silly faces.  Just cut out a big pumpkin shape from orange felt, and a bunch of little shapes for eyes, mouths, nose and stems.  They can put the shapes on the pumpkin and take them off again at will.  IMG_2135

I gave them lots of options, hoping to entertain them for a longer period :).  (If you read my last post, you know that I am in survival mode and any extra 2 minutes I can get is cherished!!!)

 

A_Hopeful_Homestead_FiveLittlePumpkinsFeltBoard

Five Little Pumpkins Rhyme

Next I made pumpkins and a fence for the “Five Little Pumpkins” rhyme:

Five little pumpkins sitting on a gate.
The first one said, “Oh, my it’s getting late”
The second one said, “There are spooks in the air.”
The third one said, “But we don’t care.”
The fourth one said, “Let’s run and run and run!”
The fifth one said, “I’m ready for some fun!”

Then Woooooo went the wind
And OUT went the lights.

And five little pumpkins rolled out of sight.

This activity isn’t near as independent as the other, but it’s something fun we can do together, and the kids can still have fun putting the pumpkins on and off as I read the rhyme.

So there you have it, a little fall-themed fun with felt!

Leave a Reply

