Food Fridays – Oatmeal Blondie Bars

This is supposed to be a Food Fridays post.  It is now Saturday evening, but better late than never, right?  You’ll appreciate that I didn’t save it until next Friday to post when you try these for yourself.

A_Hopeful_Homestead_OatmealBlondieBar

Tonight I have for you my latest snack/dessert concoction.  I’ve been trying out different recipes for my kids snacks.  I made these granola bars last week, and they were really great.  But refrigerator space is at a prime on milk weeks (as we get all our family’s raw milk for two weeks at once), and this week was.  I want snacks to be delicious and mostly healthy.  And preferably homemade, as I’m trying to get out of the just-grab-a-box-of-crackers rut with my kids’ snacks.  We do fruit, cheese, and yogurt for snacks as well, which are all great healthy choices.  But it’s nice to be able to offer the kids some variety.  And being homemade, I can control the ingredients and leave out any unhealthy preservatives and oils.  (And having a child with a fatty acid oxidation disorder, I’m always keeping my eye on which types of fats I’m feeding my family.)  These oatmeal bars fit all those things, and the kids loved them.  Win, win.

The only dilemma this recipe leaves us with is what to name it.  They’re kind of like granola bars, but a little more cookie-like in texture.  And the flavor reminds me of my favorite cookie bar – Blondies.  Caramel Chocolate Chip Oatmeal bars?  Chocolate Caramel Oat Bars?  Oatmeal Blondie Bars?  Gooey-deliciousness also comes to mind.  Let’s just leave it at that, and go eat another one.

Oatmeal Blondie Bars (or whatever you’d like to call them)

1/2 C butter

1/2 C coconut oil

1 C sucanat or brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 C flour

3 C rolled oats

Chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix flour, salt and baking powder in a mixing bowl.  Set aside.

Melt butter and coconut oil together in medium saucepan.  Stir in sucanat/brown sugar until incorporated and mostly dissolved.  Remove from heat, and let cool slightly (you just don’t want it hot enough to cook the egg as you’re trying to stir it in!).  Mix in egg, then vanilla.

Add sugar mixture to flour mixture and stir until blended.  Stir in oats.

Press into 9×13 inch baking pan and sprinkle with chocolate chips, pressing these in a bit as well.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Let cool (at least a little, if you can resist) before you cut into these, or you’ll have a gooey mess (like I did…although I really didn’t mind! :)).

A_Hopeful_Homestead_OatmealBlondieBarwmilkEnjoy!

Barn-Hop

One thought on “Food Fridays – Oatmeal Blondie Bars

Leave a Reply

